Buying Advice Please

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Buying Advice Please
Hello All,

I'm new to the world of PUG and am thinking of buying a 306 diesel as a daily hack. There doesn't seem to be a buyers guide on here - I searched and got nowhere. Have I missed it?

So - I do approx 250-275 mile per week - mostly A and B roads. I spend about 20% of the time in 5th so you get the idea. 20% is on narrow windy single track Yorkshire B roads where some of the hairpins are 1st gear up hill. I do love the Pennines but my bank balance doesn't. I'm on first name terms with all the local petrol stations as I drive a Subaru Forester! I'm getting approx. 26mpg when I drive like a vicar!!

So the plan is to get a 306 diesel. I'm thinking of the pros and cons of XUD vs. HDI if anyone can advise. I want something reliable and economical.

What about these????
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?V...SS:GB:1123

or less work here;
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/290963220598?s...1423.l2649

All advice appreciated. Thanks,
Steven
Thanks given by:
For uber cheap motoring the xud can't be beaten as they run on veg oil at £1 a litre tops its real cheap. Plus parts are nice and cheap

Hdi does have its benefits. Usually a nicer a car as they're newer and usually better specs. They will average better mpg than a xud but can't run on veg and you'll be paying £1.40 at the pumps. They are more refined than an xud and it depends how hardcore you want to go on cheap motoring
[Image: IMG_20130925_181339_zps95df48fa.jpg]
Thanks given by:
(15-09-2013, 02:10 PM)4WayDiablo Wrote: For uber cheap motoring the xud can't be beaten as they run on veg oil at £1 a litre tops its real cheap. Plus parts are nice and cheap