Starting problem

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Starting problem
Hi I've got a starting problem when my cars running it starts and stops fine But when it's been stood a few hours and had chance to cool it won't start at all it takes a gd half hour of turning over with a jump starter to start it or some easy start in the dump valve to get it goin it's like not enough fuel getting in or something but when it's cold u can see a lot of air bubbles goin into the pump when running and as a farmer I know air in a diesel won't start but I've followed the fuel system all the way bck to take and into injectors and all is tight anyone got any ideas thanks
Thanks given by:
You sure your primer grenade isn't leaking? Quite a common place to leak especially if air is entering the pump. Do you have clear fuel lines? Always a good place to start in finding leaks.

What's probably happening is when it's running, the draw from the pump overcomes any leaky spots in the lines. When it's sat, fuel leaks out and causes an air lock around the leak, and when you try and turn it over again the pump sucks more air in.
[Image: signature_zps1a02ba79.jpg]
Thanks given by:
sometimes the air can be drawing in without fuel leaking.

I would start with investigating around the fuel filter housing and your leak off pipes...

trying pumping the grenade before starting next time
Wishes for more power...
Thanks given by:
If its not a fuel leak or air getting in, I would investigate the stop solenoid on the pump as these play up and cause starting issues. get a multimeter on the solenoid with the ignition on and see what voltage (if any) is going to it,
also heater plug relays can play up, all worth checking
Current stable
'09 Mercedes E320cdi wagon 
'99 306 gti6
Thanks given by:
Glow plugs!...

Where I'd put my money!
On the 306 waiting list.
Thanks given by: