Peak boost

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Peak boost
Ive seen a few people comment that they hit peak boost at around 2-2.5k rpm, but mine seems to build slowly and only peak just as im about to change gear at 4.5k.

Before i go any further, could it be due to the fact i'm still running the Lucas pump that came on the car? Im sure the others that ive spoken to have been Bosch'd already. Either that, or could my turbo be nearing the end of its useful life?

Any suggestions would be appreciated, it doesnt really bother me, as im still loving just having boost, but its one of those niggling little things in the back of your head, just thought id get your take on things. Cheers guys/gals!Big Grin
[Image: P1060836_zpsz3xgxt7q.jpg]
Thanks given by:
Boost leak maybe?
Doesnt even own a 306.
Thanks given by:
Not that ive found so far, peaks at 18-19psi, but as i say, its only as i change gear.
Thanks given by:
Im no expert but you should be at full boost and holding by 3K atleast... I think.. lol
Doesnt even own a 306.
Thanks given by:
lol Thats the problem, im not an expert either....far from it! lmao

Im learning though, albeit as i go along, but im learning!
Thanks given by:
I dunno why it would take so long to hit peak boost. I take it you have tinkled with the pump? It may be that your not delivering enough fuel low down.
Mine hits peak boost(28psi) around 2.6-2.9 and holds till 4.5+ but I'm changing by then anwyay
[Image: IMG_20130925_181339_zps95df48fa.jpg]
Thanks given by:
Agree with 4way, it should make peak boost by 2.5-2.8k. I would be looking for a boost leak. Does it smoke at all when on blow?
Supercharged XUD Project - Dead

HDi Cabby Project Click
Thanks given by:
(10-09-2012, 05:51 PM)londondan86 Wrote: Agree with 4way, it should make peak boost by 2.5-2.8k. I would be looking for a boost leak. Does it smoke at all when on blow?