2.2hdi 407 buying tips?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
2.2hdi 407 buying tips?
I'm looking into replacing my 307sw 2.0 with something else, and the 407sw 2.2hdi Fap came up as a reasonable replacement, reasonably roomy and decent prices.
But I have zero experience in these engines, what should I be on the lookout for? Particulate filter, cleanable or is a replacement necessary?
Does anyone know how to check if the car is a face-lift ed model? Wikipedia said the 2.2hdi was introduced with the face-lift but I see a bunch of my07 cars for sale with that engine.. Very confusing!
Tinkerer of 306gti6 trackday racer, less stuff, more hard, more umpf, more stop.
Thanks given by:
I would buy a d9 406 instead, same engine, much better shape to the boot, its a proper estate not an sw, the 407 tailgate opening is really poor for the cars size, or get a citroen c5 with the same engine.

if the dpf causes issue just get it removed and mapped out, you can also gain a decent 30-40 bhp on a standard engine.

in any case listen out for dmf noises, ticking injectors, boost leaks, excessive snoke and lack of power, nothing too difficult to fix but can add up in cost especially if you dont fix it yourself.

very similar in operation to the dw10ated4, but a longer stroke bigger bore taller engine.
Thanks given by:
Top advice there from Welshpug Smile
Thanks given by:
406 is, unfortunately, out of the question due to tax rules on diesel cars made before 2005.
Besides, I have an 05 307, and i want something that is at least not older than my present ride [WHITE SMILING FACE]
Tinkerer of 306gti6 trackday racer, less stuff, more hard, more umpf, more stop.
Thanks given by:
my main worry with any new car would be the clutch/fly wheel. expensive to replace and i believe its not something you particularly want to be doing yourself.
Thanks given by:
Focus estate? Not a 2.2 but the 136 2.0 TDCi/HDi engine is pretty good.