the rears are 6x9 3 way infinity through an amplifier and crossovers
i have tried different settings but need help
CheersSmile
Smile
Thanks given by:
reverse the polarity of the wires to the speakers
or maybe the crossoveres are filtering the highs
Thanks given by:
(16-04-2014, 08:35 PM)cully Wrote: reverse the polarity of the wires to the speakers
or maybe the crossoveres are filtering the highs

Cheers Cully,
i'll try switching the wires over first, thats the easy bit, how can i check the crossovers though...Idea..oh oh just remove them i suppose!!
Smile
Thanks given by:
Are you using the sub pre outs on the back of your head unit or are the pre outs set to low pass?
Thanks given by:
(16-04-2014, 09:09 PM)DeeTurbo Wrote: Are you using the sub pre outs on the back of your head unit or are the pre outs set to low pass?

sorry mate, i'm a novice at this stuff and pre out is a new phrase to me

Ive got a Pioneer p40mp head unit, and a sony xplod xm280gtx amp,

theres one thin blue wire to the amp plus speaker cables and power

Cheers for your help mate, i'll have a look behind the head unit tomorrow
Smile
Thanks given by:
There are two ways to get music (signal) to an amp
1) RCA cable.
2) high level.

The RCA or phono plugs are connected to the head units pre output stage so before the amp in the headunit. You connect this way to get better quality sound. The pre outs are the round plugs that go to the amp from the back of the head unit.

The high level signal is the signal that usually goes to the speakers but some amps can take this signal and amplify it even more but the sound quality isn't as good.

There are two other ways also but they're digital but I won't go into that.

I've just had a look at the headunit you've got and there are two sets of pre out on the back. Ones for a full range signal and the other if for a sub.

Make sure you've not connected to the sub pre outs.

Check out page 36 of your manual.

http://docs.pioneer.eu/Manuals/DEH_P40MP...10_manual/