Boost gauge. Now I'm no expert but....

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Boost gauge. Now I'm no expert but....
....I have played Gran Turismo! So I don't know how qualified that makes me?

My boost gauge is a nice little gadget. I don't like how it doesn't look OEM, but ima fix that (as per my other thread) and I don't care really how accurate it is, I just like to see the turbo is behaving properly...

Which leads me on to the purpose of this thread.

On Gran Turismo (hear me out!) the boost holds at the same pressure throughout the rev range. Today, in a rare pursuit of speed in the HDi I exceeded 3,500 revs (I know Tom, I know). The boost comes in at around 1500-1800 and holds at 15-16psi, but what I noticed is that the car quickly ran out of 'puff' after 3 grand. Glancing at the boost gauge it was only reading 11psi and falling?

I know diesels don't "do" revs, but my focus TDCi seemed to still have power higher up.

Is this normal, or have I sprung a leak somewhere? Or is the turbo guffed? Service due next week so I can have a good look around, if there is a problem, where should I look for it?
Disclaimer: The above is not to be taken to heart and is probably a joke, grow up you big girl.
[Image: Sig500x130.png]
Thanks given by:
Not an entirely helpful post, but im having a remotely similar problem.

My boost doesnt peak (@ 19psi) until i have to change gear at about 4.5k rpm, so was also wondering if my turbo might be giving up.

Im not sure if yours should be dropping boost after 3k, as mine (when it was standard) was holding a steady 14psi up to the gear change, but peaking about 2k sounds about normal from other accounts ive read.

Im certainly no diesel expert myself, so i could be way off the mark. Im sure someone will be along shortly to correct me if i am. Big Grin
[Image: P1060836_zpsz3xgxt7q.jpg]
Thanks given by:
I guess your still running a cat, it strangles it, thats the current restriction.