Servicing - Do you still go Genuine?

Poll: Genuine or Motor Factor Filters?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
Genuine Pug
46.67%
7 46.67%
Cheap Alternative
53.33%
8 53.33%
Total 15 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Servicing - Do you still go Genuine?
Lots of conversations used to come about years ago when this came up;

Do you buy Genuine Peugeot filters when you service your car?

A service kit for a 2.0 HDi can be had for about £20, whereas Peugeot have just quoted me £48.36 plus £30 for 5L of oil (Total Quartz 10W40)

What's your opinion?

It's interesting listening to my father in law who is a mechanic by trade and as such gets big discounts from motor factors. With his involvement you'd have thought I could save lots of money, but back when I last serviced my Toyota Celica I managed to get the genuine parts from Toyota for less than he got a price for!

Everyone says 'OEM quality' on their adverts, but some parts are always worth buying from the dealer, as they are generally a better fit and finish from experience.

For me I think these parts include both the oil and fuel filters. Everything else is pretty generic. A fuel filter from Pug is £18.74 and an oil filter £10.69

The air filter I may leave as it's another £17.93 on top, for what is basically a bit of paper. But at least it will fit nicely.

What are your thoughts / opinions?
Disclaimer: The above is not to be taken to heart and is probably a joke, grow up you big girl.
[Image: Sig500x130.png]
Thanks given by:
Personally id get decent oil (Not neccesarily what pug reccomend, but something of the same viscosity and a good brand) and then just get fuel/oil/air filters from motor factors at cheapest price you can.

Edit, suppose I better vote aswel lol I clicked cheap alternative
Thanks given by:
i buy nothing from pug, apart from dealer only parts lol . . . . i try not to buy shit though . .Smile