Gti-6 coil pack change, help please

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gti-6 coil pack change, help please
Shocked 
Hi guys

Im going to try save myself some money and do a relatively simple job myself! Well I think its simple, ive no shame in the fact that ive always paid people to do work on my 6 so its right... well a little bit of shame.. Ok Quite a lot, but yeah im new to this and would really appreciate any advice, dos and donts and if possible a guide Smile to doing it right first time. Im getting the coils tomorrow ( pencil not cassette type) and ive got the tools and enthusiasm just 0 skills. 

Cant find videos of a 6 coil change only standard 306.

Any advice would be great thanks

Diablo red ph 3 99 plate '6
Thanks given by:
There are probably no videos as it's so simple! Smile

Remove the plastic cover bolts and lift off cover
Unplug the electric plugs from each coil
Remove the 2 bolts from the coil, pull it out (at this point might as well fit new spark plugs if you have some) push new coil in, refit bolts
Re-plug electric connector
Refit plastic cover and bolts

Do make sure everythings tight. Don't over-tighten anything. Wink
Thanks given by:
You need torx and Allen key bits. Not much space under the master cylinder - I never replace that bolt as it annoys me.
P1 XSi track car
2.4 LWB T4
Thanks given by: GtiJimmy
(16-02-2016, 09:12 PM)Toms306 Wrote: Thanks so much mate and yeah youre right I realise now its pretty easy ha but glad I asked, do I need to disconnect that battery though? And also if I changed the sparks 5 months ago is it likely the coil going might have shorted the plug there too?

cheers for the help mate

There are probably no videos as it's so simple! Smile

Remove the 2 bolts from the coil, pull it out (at this point might as well fit new spark plugs if you have some) push new coil in, refit bolts

Do make sure everythings tight.  Don't over-tighten anything. Wink