Engine cutting out 306 hdi

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Engine cutting out 306 hdi
I have changed the fuel filter and cleaned out the fuel strainer in the tank. I could hear the bubbles in the tank clearing out. This stopped the car having fuel blockage problems.

But now when driving on hills mainly but now started on flat roads the car just cut off and dies. It will start right away sometimes then other times leave for 10 or 20 seconds. There diesel in the tank I know I've looked inside the fuel tank and the gauge works fine.

The pump makes a thump noise in tank and then primes. I check my other 306 to see if it sounds the same.

I put my foot down plenty of power more now since I've done both filters. But now it's cutting out more now the only things I can think of is the pump in the tank going due to fuel strainer problem before or engine pump?
Thanks given by:
Removed your duplicate thread for you. Smile

I'm no expert (and i'm sure someone will be along shortly to potentially make me look a bit silly Wink ), but I'm thinking lift pump in the tank?
[Image: P1060836_zpsz3xgxt7q.jpg]
Thanks given by:
Sounds a lot like it tbh, maybe worth taking it out and having a look to see if it's got any blockages in the plastic pump housing bit. Failing that, sounds like a new pump.

Or, how much fuel do you have in exactly? I found mine cut out sometimes with anything less than 1/4 of a tank, especially after railing a roundabout and ragging it up a hill.
306 HDi Deathtrap - 130bhp / 220lbft
...UPGRADING...

Thanks given by:
(03-06-2015, 09:47 PM)Poodle Wrote: Sounds a lot like it tbh, maybe worth taking it out and having a look to see if it's got any blockages in the plastic pump housing bit. Failing that, sounds like a new pump.

Or, how much fuel do you have in exactly? I found mine cut out sometimes with anything less than 1/4 of a tank, especially after railing a roundabout and ragging it up a hill.