Whats the big deal with the bosch pump?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Whats the big deal with the bosch pump?
Question 
Hey guys,

So Im pretty new to owning a D-Turbo and even newer to the forum, so I searched for a simple thing as its a very popular topic and Im basically looking for a quick answer to "What is so special about a bosch pump?" and even more important "Do I need to change from a Lucas to a Bosch if I'm staying stock in mods?".

I mean it may sound noob or ignorant, but Im not really following why the pump would make a difference, I mean sure a pump will throw more fuel, but is that the only reason? Are the Bosch better quality? Are there any caveats with the conversion?

Thanks
Ex cars: '86 Opel Monza 1.6 GLS Puke & '97 Opel Astra 180ie 16v - oil spill & '07 VW Polo 1.9TDI (stolen) - Awesome car!

"I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life." - Henry David Thoreau
Thanks given by:
(16-04-2015, 06:41 AM)timpug Wrote: Hey guys,

So Im pretty new to owning a D-Turbo and even newer to the forum, so I searched for a simple thing as its a very popular topic and Im basically looking for a quick answer to "What is so special about a bosch pump?" and even more important "Do I need to change from a Lucas to a Bosch if I'm staying stock in mods?".

I mean it may sound noob or ignorant, but Im not really following why the pump would make a difference, I mean sure a pump will throw more fuel, but is that the only reason? Are the Bosch better quality? Are there any caveats with the conversion?

Thanks

Bosch is better, lucas pumps leave you pretty limited to tuning. I think they have better pressure as well...

I don't think you sound noob or ignorant, if you don't know... you don't know. You've come to the best place to ask though Wink