Losing coolant

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Losing coolant
Hey guys, I haven't been driving my 306 much but after a couple of days of ownership the low coolant light came on. Filled it up and hoped it would be ok, unfortunately that's not the case as coming home from work this morning the light came back. Checked the expansion tank and very little coolant in it. I've maybe needed to put in half a litre to a litre to get the water level back to normal but I've done less then a hundred miles in it since topping it up.

I'm not very good at diagnosing issues and I've already searched the forum but just looking for a lil help, possibly head gasket failure or leaking from somewhere? I've just let it idle and couldn't see any drips but because this is a new engine for me I don't really know where to look, is there any tell tale signs of hgf on this engine? Can't see any oil in coolant, just dirty water, I usually check oil filler cap but because it's not mounted on the head like most cars I can't see it getting mayo on it. Passenger foot well is dry I think and the heater blows hot air fine when turned to red and cold air when turned to blue.

I'm basically a hobbyist mechanic, I've changed heads a few times and do all my own work blah-de-blahblah so I can do what needs to be done. Just when I'm faced with an engine I'm unfamilar with I've no idea what's what.

Any help muchly appreciated.
Thanks given by:
Head gasket failures aren't uncommon on these engines so its easy to assume its that if there are no visible leaks. It could also be a pinhole in the radiator which only leaks when the pressure is up. I had that once and only found it by chance.
Has the engine got hot at all (above 90 degrees).?
Thanks given by: