Hdi turbo change... Quickly

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hdi turbo change... Quickly
got an upcoming turbo change to do on a mates hdi as it's sounding more and more whiney, but anyway it's an X reg 306 hdi with Gt15, I've already sourced a replacement Gt15 on a manifold to make things as easy and as fast as possible.

I've got plenty of experience with turbos on xud engines, but this will be my first hdi, just looking for pointers really.

Space behind the engine is noticeably less than an xud, so would I be best off Supporting the engine from underneath and undoing the top engine mount so I can pull the engine forward?

Or remove downpipe and try getting at it from underneath?

Useful tips to help speed up the process?
Current stable
'09 Mercedes E320cdi wagon 
'99 306 gti6
Thanks given by:
From underneath, drop the back of the subframe
306oc Chat Wrote:15:30: Toms306 - :Genuinely thought it was gonna explode when I was playing with Sam
22:57: SRowell - :wtf why didnt you try harder to make me come!
[Image: connorsig.jpg]
Thanks given by:
(24-03-2014, 09:00 AM)Connor Wrote: From underneath, drop the back of the subframe

Awesome, cheers me babber!
Current stable
'99 306 gti6
Thanks given by:
My turbo sounds like a pigeon, I shall mount it on my mantle piece. Keen for this turbo change though man. Lots of swearing and threatening to sell my HDi as no doubt it'll throw a spanner in the works Sad
'01 Astor Grey HDi DTurbo 3 Door - Current/Daily/Does Everything I ask of it

Team disASTOR? Itwasntme

Thanks given by:
To change the turbo you dont need to drop the subframe at all, but its best to only change the turbo and not the manifold as the exhaust manifold is held in place by the inlet, and the inlet is far harder to remove on a hdi compared to an xud
Thanks given by:
That's good news then, are all the bolts holding the turbo on fairly accessible from underneath?