How much to lower the car so still handles good?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How much to lower the car so still handles good?
Hi all I'm new to this and just bought myself a phase 1 306 1.6xs it's standard height atm on 205 gti wheels and want to lower it but been reading if go any lower than 60mm on front then will handle shit is this right? I want the car to handle aswell as look nice
Thanks given by:
IMO i dont see why you'd need to go much lower than 60mm anyway, unless you're Sam. lol Mines 60mm on the front, and it handles like a dream when the rest of the car works properly. Big Grin
[Image: P1060836_zpsz3xgxt7q.jpg]
Thanks given by:
I only wanna go about 60mm on front as seen a few with 15s on and it looks good. What about back? Any ideas?
Thanks given by:
Dont make the same mistake i did, the back wants to sit about 10-20mm higher than the front. According to the measurements we made the day we lowered it, my rear beam is 60mm lower than it was at standard height. But its on it arse, in fact im pretty sure its on the bumpstops all the time. Would look spot on raised up about 10-20 mm.
Thanks given by:
The back does look pretty slammed if that's the one in the pic? So say drop the back about 40-50mm that correct?
Thanks given by:
Check out some project threads...and other threads...there was a thread about a week ago asking almost same question, had lots of pics on it with cars at diff heights

Put it on cheap 30mm lowering springs on standard shocks and some D2s or AVOs at 80mm drop will handle better but then drop it on some saxo springs down to 80mm or put it on eibachs and bilsteins -40mm and the -40mm will be a better setup...

Its what you want and what your budget is.

This isnt allowing for improved ARBs and TBs and bushes ect
Wishes for more power...
Thanks given by:
Ok thanks will have a search for it. I kno roughly what I want. 60mm at front and about same at back or just so is sat level and to handle well
Thanks given by: