fuel filter????

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
fuel filter????
Newbie here.

I've got a meridian 2.0 hdi.

1. Engine management light came on.
2. Took it to Mr clutch, they didn't know what was wrong and car felt fine.
3. Gradually exhaust getting louder like it's blowing. Whistling turbo like noise coming from engine.
4. Took it to Peugeot who want to charge over £100 for diagnostic test.

Not paying that if I just need to change a fuel filter. Does this sound right? Best place to buy new filter?
Thanks given by:
I've not heard of a blocked filter causing the light tbh, would think its something else but doesn't hurt to change. Any motor factors should sell them.

Getting the code read will be best, do you know anyone with a generic code reader, or a local garage maybe?

Exhaust is probably blowing also, Id suggest around the cat pipe if that's where the noise is. But that shouldn't be related to the EML.
Thanks given by:
(22-10-2013, 03:19 PM)Toms306 Wrote: I've not heard of a blocked filter causing the light tbh, would think its something else but doesn't hurt to change. Any motor factors should sell them.

Getting the code read will be best, do you know anyone with a generic code reader, or a local garage maybe?

Exhaust is probably blowing also, Id suggest around the cat pipe if that's where the noise is. But that shouldn't be related to the EML.

Mr clutch wrote the following which means very little to me:

5124,cu output stage
For suppl. beater.
545 accelerator pedal position
Sensor 2 signal improbable
Thanks given by:
Is that faults they read?

If so, the 2nd one looks like it's going to be the throttle position sensor (TPS). And I think that can bring the light on.

Can't quite decipher what the first one is though!
Thanks given by:
Has anything unusual happened prior to the light coming on?

A blocked filter can cause the light, but only if the engine cuts out from low fuel pressure.

5124 makes no sense, that must be from a generic code reader.