decatting a 306 hdi

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
decatting a 306 hdi
i know im posting alot but im new to this and wanna get my car done Smile, i have heard about decatting the 306 by cutting the cat open removing the plate and welding it back up. the problem ive got is that ive been told if i decat it it will go into limp mode due to lack of back pressure? is this true or can i go ahead and decat it?
Thanks given by:
No it's not true. Decat it.
You'd be better off buying a straight tube from ebay or welding a pipe through the middle of the cat though.. as you'll never get all the crap out the oem cat.
Thanks given by:
oh okay thanks, but im trying to stick to a budget at the moment so i can keep my money to sort out the whine from my fuel pump:L, wouldnt the inside be the same as any other car, ive done it to a mazda mx5 and the was just a big white block, wouldnt it be the same in my cat?
Thanks given by:
You can buy a tube that bolts straight on... Should help the turbo spool a bit earlier too

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Peugeot-306-2-...43bca28fa5
3 x Peugeot owner.

1996 106.
1996 306 D Turbo S.
1994 Mercedes Benz 320E.
1997 306 GLX.

Subscribe! - https://www.youtube.com/user/TheADKJD/videos
Thanks given by:
(12-06-2013, 05:58 PM)Laney9510 Wrote: oh okay thanks, but im trying to stick to a budget at the moment so i can keep my money to sort out the whine from my fuel pump:L, wouldnt the inside be the same as any other car, ive done it to a mazda mx5 and the was just a big white block, wouldnt it be the same in my cat?

If your going to do that, cut the side of the cat open, remove it all like that then weld it back up. Trying to bash it out with a tube won't work
Thanks given by:
if i cut it open and remove the insides and weld it back up it will give the same response as a decat pipe yeah?
Thanks given by:
Indeed
Thanks given by:
(12-06-2013, 06:12 PM)vlj Wrote: Indeed

thanksBig Grin
Thanks given by:
(12-06-2013, 06:36 PM)Laney9510 Wrote: