Big bang and lots of white smoke

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Big bang and lots of white smoke
I was driving my HDi to work this morning, got 3 miles down the road and started to accelerate to pass something. Had a big bang, looked behind me to see a mass of white smoke that covered the carriageway, and engine had cut out. I coasted to a parking spot and tried to start the engine. It turned over for about 5 seconds but failed to start, so I left it and called the AA.

Had it towed home and when it was here it started again, first turn of the key. It revs fine and sounds fine but it has a smallish amount of white smoke out the exhaust. Engine management light is on.

I haven't driven it so not sure if it's down on power. Does anyone have any thoughts what it might be? I guessed something turbo related but i'm not a derv expert.

Thanks in advance
Thanks given by:
Sound like turbo crapped itself tbh. Would be tempted to check the blades of it were me!

Even just stick your head under and have a look around the turbo for anything suspicious!
Supercharged GTi6 Build
S14 Zenki Build
[Image: signature.png]
Thanks given by:
yeh have a look at the turbo and check what the light has come on for.
Thanks given by:
White smoke does often follow turbo failure, but I don't see how it'd stall the engine or bring up an EML? I suppose the compressor 'could' seize solid, massively reduce the airflow to stall the engine. But even then, there's no sensors around the turbo so how would the ECU know it'd failed?
Thanks given by:
Also possibly a lifter if its not the turbo.
Thanks given by:
(29-04-2013, 03:14 PM)Toms306 Wrote: White smoke does often follow turbo failure, but I don't see how it'd stall the engine or bring up an EML? I suppose the compressor 'could' seize solid, massively reduce the airflow to stall the engine. But even then, there's no sensors around the turbo so how would the ECU know it'd failed?