The "debate" thread

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The "debate" thread
(19-03-2013, 06:10 PM)vlj Wrote: £35k hits the 40% tax band doesn't it though?
It does indeed, up till the end of the month the limit is £34,371 then from April 2013 it drops to £32,011 which means ill be just under £500 a year worse off as will all of us that pay higher rate tax.

(19-03-2013, 06:43 PM)C.A.R. Wrote: No don't think so, Niall wasn't far off with his original guess, out by about £140 actually Wink
Ouch, I really do get shafted on tax and pension payments.

(20-03-2013, 07:23 AM)C2K Wrote:
(19-03-2013, 06:03 PM)Dum-Dum Wrote: I earn about 35k pa and my monthly basic take home is only 1900 so theres no way 25 gives a take home of 1800
Forgive my ignorance, but aren't you a PCSO? When did they start earning 35K a year?
Firstly no I'm a Police Officer and have been for about a year.

However the highest earning PCSOs do earn over £35k a year. I was on just under £30k but on the lower rate of London weighting and a lower shift allowance than some get. The top PCSO basic salary is £25k or so plus £3500 London weighting then 25% shift allowance gives the best part of £36k pa
Thanks given by:
There isn't a single civil servant that gets shafted by anything, they all have remuneration packages at least 20% above their private peers, usually more. But anyway, thats not the subject here

Imho this country needs rehashing from the bottom up tbh, all the way to the top. I could bang on for days about it, but i'll stick to what I consider to be the three main issues for now.