Something Not Right

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Something Not Right
Hi all. Don't normally post as, so far, all's been well with my motor since I bought her back in July. However, this morning she fired up as normal but then went very spluttery in idle for a few seconds. The engine sounds quite 'rattly' when I pull away and she seems to feel ever so slightly lumpy - as if she's misfiring every once in a while. She's fine in the cruise and the revs are steady when stopped. Anyway, got her into work and parked up and revved her up to about 3k and noticed a fair bit of blue exhaust - nothing on idle revs. Any idea what the problem might be? I'm no mechanic so any advice would be appreciated!Huh
Thanks given by:
Blue smoke and spluttery when first started... Do you get much turbo whistle? Does it smoke as much if you keep the revs right down? Could be the turbo on its way out, but need a bit more info to be sure.
306 HDi Deathtrap - 130bhp / 220lbft
...UPGRADING...

Thanks given by:
(19-02-2013, 10:21 AM)Poodle Wrote: Blue smoke and spluttery when first started... Do you get much turbo whistle? Does it smoke as much if you keep the revs right down? Could be the turbo on its way out, but need a bit more info to be sure.

This. Blue smoke is oil burning might be worth checking your breather pipes first
Supercharged XUD Project - Dead

HDi Cabby Project Click
Thanks given by:
There's no smoke when first starting and the turbo isn't really whistling at all. Strangely, I had a whistle that sounded like it was coming from one of the air vents when I have the fan on but that went away (constant tone, no undulating sounds like a turbo would make). As I say, the main symptoms seem to be a little 'clatter' as I pull away and move up from gear to gear and the occasional, momentary dip in pull at the same time. I'm popping home from the office in a mo and will see how she starts after sitting in the sun all morning. Could it be a fuel filter thing?
Thanks given by: