Wiring in gauges?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Wiring in gauges?
Forgive me, I'm not very good with electrics!

I'm not sure which wires I should use for gauges in the centre console. I have a ph1 with no keypad, ashtray lights or cigarette lighter. Everything's there wiring wise but I'd like to know which wires are what.

Here's a list of my available wiring:

A plug with a red wire and a green/yellow wire
A plug with a white wire
The plug for the keypad
The cigarette lighter plug/element

I don't use the lighter or keypad so I'm happy to cut them if any useful wires live inside!

Can anyone help me out?
Thanks given by:
What gauges are you fitting Luke?
Thanks given by:
White wire is illumination for the ciggy lighter, white plug with red and green/yellow is for the ciggy lighter, green n yellow is earth, red is ignition live (depending on where your shunt fuse is lower 2 are for ignition live, top 2 are for permanent live)
Click to see how smokey is doing Tongue ----> Project Smokey
Thanks given by:
I use feed from stereo as on when ignition on
Thanks given by:
(28-01-2013, 04:36 PM)gareth7 Wrote: What gauges are you fitting Luke?

Boost first, then oil pressure and temp once I get them sorted under the bonnet.

(28-01-2013, 05:06 PM)Parksy87 Wrote: White wire is illumination for the ciggy lighter, white plug with red and green/yellow is for the ciggy lighter, green n yellow is earth, red is ignition live (depending on where your shunt fuse is lower 2 are for ignition live, top 2 are for permanent live)

Yeah, I've done temp wiring on the ignition live and earth for fag lighter but no light.

(28-01-2013, 05:19 PM)Tyronnster Wrote: I use feed from stereo as on when ignition on

Might have to do this, would've rather used what's already under the dash, though.
Thanks given by: