Fitting a boost gauge in driver's side vent.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Fitting a boost gauge in driver's side vent.
Ok this is my first time writing a guide so bare with me.

After searching for ages and seeing the same question asked time and time again. "how do I fit one, where can I mount, t-points" thought I would do this quickly to help Any one thinking of doing it.

First of all removed the drivers side vent. To do this just get a small flat blade screwdriver and prise carefully around the edges careful not to damage your dash. The vent should just lift out.

I then used a 52mm gauge so I used a holesaw to cut the vent in the middle just go slow and careful and you shouldn't have a problem I put it in a vice to hold it still.

[Image: 4f592f3f.jpg]

You should end up with something like that.

[Image: 517becba.jpg]

How it looks with gauge fitted. I did spray the ring around the edge black as it was silver.

Ok when fitting to the car you need to T in to the boost pipe that comes out the middle of your intercooler at the front.

[Image: c53322b3.jpg]

It's the pipe with the yellow cable tie on. Don't worry I didn't keep the cable tie you need to use either the actual clips that come off or like I did get some new jubilee clips. You need to make sure your connections are tight as you don't want any air leaks

Another question I kept seeing being asked was "where can I feed the pipe through"

Well after reading up the most simple place is to the top right of the clutch m/c if you get your hand up next to it you will feel a small rubber bung. Just get a small screwdriver and poke it thru.

[Image: 6ed69530.jpg]
[Image: 6a71d99d.jpg]

All you need to do then it feed you pipe in and it should come out in the top of drivers side foot well. Just reach up from you pedals and you should feel it.

Then just feed it to your vent.

[Image: 851cb8e0.jpg]